Categories
Uncategorized

FRIENDS with Benefits.

I can count on one hand the number of people in my life who deposit into my soul everyday, they’re carefully curated and appropriately allocated when need be, life’s taught me to know better.

In my previous post regarding life CHAPTERS, I alluded to the significance of nurturing the relationship with yourself, but what about how our relationships with others impact our daily lives?, They say “one hand washes the other before they can both wash the face”, but what if one of the hands doesn’t oblige the brain’s hygiene reflexes?

Okay, hear me out, what’s the point of having anyone in your life if they don’t contribute anything to your bottom line? Are you even sure the toxicity that might be fueling your instabilities doesn’t come from the people you call “friends”?

Look, I understand it’s easy to underappreciate the true underlying meaning of the word Friend in this social media age where I somehow have 11,000+ people “following” my day to day activities on Twitter and over 4000 Facebook friends, well, last I checked anyway, but are they though? My Friends? You tell me. 🤷🏾‍♂️

Now, I think I might know a guy who once said; “if you truly want to know yourself, look at three to five of your closest friends, cause you’re a reflection of the people you spend most of your time with”, in this mostly digital age (and Covid-19), that’s virtual interactions too, believe it or not, people do fall in love online, but I digress.

The point is, how much do you still like yourself after calculating the quality of your circle of friends?

There’s this negative connotation that surrounds the whole “friends with benefits” concept, it rides on the shoulders of vice, infidelity or consequences of debauchery, but in it’s literal sense, where really is the harm in that?

Where’s the harm in putting yourself first and only accommodate and service relationships that actually BENEFIT your LIFE?

Who made the rules? there’s no sin in cutting out something you feel is detrimental to your bottom line, hey that’s in the Bible, I think 🤔.

I don’t know how you look at the world around you but I’m quite certain it’s not exactly the way I look at mine, eitherway, we are more similar than we are different, so here’s something I overlooked early on when I first started reevaluating my relationships;

As you consider and reconsider which sowers are allowed to plant in your life, make sure you’re fertile ground too!

WE CAN ALL BLOSSOM IN COLOUR!

By Calvinmlw

I call it like I see it, I share it like I understand it.

2 replies on “FRIENDS with Benefits.”

Leave a comment